Suspension of Anachronism in Philosophy? 

Just a pondering…

When I watch the newer Sherlock Holmes movie I just had a awareness about the date. Just looking at their outfit in the setting and clothes it’s impossible to not know that you know late 19th century. Despite the modern fighting techniques and such — One cannot help but feel a certain date when you watch Gunsmoke or wild wild West, or bonanza. Or how about Metropolis. 

Whenever we see these movies or shows one does not have a sense at all that these periods and stories (whether. Contrived like the Sherlock Holmes movie or actual like the gun smoke shows ) are to take place contemporary with our watching them. Every moment of context is mediated by the idea that these shows have occurred in a different time.  And the sense of time automatically has a certain category of understanding knowledge perception date attached to them. 

A book that comes to mind is the big book of Alcoholics Anonymous. When you read that you get a distinct feeling of date. Some of the phrases that he uses, in that book in order to understand what they’re saying you almost have to look it up in a dictionary. 

Or even read old science fiction novels like HG Wells or HP Lovecraft. Isaac Asimov. It’s difficult not to ‘feel’the date. 

I’m sure everyone is understanding what I’m getting at by now. 

Somehow with philosophy I don’t really have that kind of view upon books usually. For some reason most of the time when I read books on philosophy I read them kind of from a sense that they concern me now as their content is appearing to me at that moment. Reading Kierkegaard somehow I take his writing within a sense of style rather than in a sense of time. Similarly Hagel feels more like a style to me. I suppose I have to temper my perception of Plato or Aristotle to that of the author who translates them though. 

I was just considering Hurssel logical investigations (i’m going to venture into that fortress soon) and just reading Wikipedia’s summary of his arguments as a sort of primer (since all my appropriations of phenomenology has been through other authors and summaries and analyses, I figure it’s time I get down to the original meat) it struck me how the argument or issue that at least wiki is saying that logical investigations addresses ‘feels’to me dated. Strangely enough reading Plato doesn’t feel to me the same kind of date. Actually I’m thinking about all the various authors have read, it’s strange how I have perception of date through different manners of their presentation; I read something of Lessing recently and I couldn’t help but feel less a date as an anachronism of argumentbut more by his style. Bertrend Russell has a style that always strikes me as 1920; I don’t know why.

It is kind of weird inpondering this topic. 

I suppose it is because of my philosophical position. But I’m not sure, if except add a somewhat young age, I viewed the discussion of objects as a discussion of things segregate from my understanding of them. It is interesting that at least wiki speaks of Hursserls consideration within a sort of automatic understanding of the situation. Things’out there’ and the possibility of that situation. To me, that is such a strange concept that it is difficult even to place the very idea in discourse. I find what seems such an easy assumption in Wikipedia, even as I understand what it is saying clear to me , difficult for me to speak of when I go to try and describe it. That is weird. 

But nevertheless that type of argument that Hursel was I guess attempting to overcome (we shall see as I will be reading it soon) seems to me anachronistic,  it ‘feels’ to me dated. 


But the point I suppose I’m trying to make is that I for one don’t take philosophical books automatically with in a historically temporal appropriation. Somehow I seem to take all philosophical books upon a level playing field, discerning their merits and defficiencies by the meaningful content that I gain from them, appropriating A sense of time from the actual argument (most of the time I suppose even though I have said sometimes style just hits me). 

I find that strange. If someone was to present to me a mechanical device from 100 years ago, I would not dismiss it on it’s perhaps lack of modern functionality. I would dismiss it instantly upon the very fact that it is 100 years old, and then bring it in to have some Modern conception . When I read HG Wells I’m not considering his science fiction as a contemporary piece; I might extrapolate his ideas and see how they might compare to what is occurring now, but I don’t take his writing as a piece that occurs now.

There is something about historical ideology, style as well as topics and approaches to topics , that categorizes certain ideas with in a temporal scheme, and that some of these ideas tend to avoid this automatic categorization. 
I’m sure there’s much philosophical speculation that can be found within this pondering.

But I suppose that the oddity has something to do with innate ideas and the idea of a stratified common humanity. 

One thought on “Suspension of Anachronism in Philosophy? 

  1. That is weird: anecdotally, in my closet back at my parent’s home, not here, there lies an object, actually a movie poster, for a Sherlock Holmes flick. Here it is: http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/steampunk/images/5/59/SherlockHolmes2009.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20101028210208

    “Nothing escapes them” – ha! Your mention of Sherlock Holmes, of course, is somewhat different.

    Oddly enough, putting aside the cinema itself, this poster has been signed, somehow, in a silver sharpie-marker, by the artist Hans Zimmer. I haven’t ever met him in-person, but he’s obviously a well-known musician doing talented (orchestral) pieces…

    I think maybe a few years ago I won an online social contest or a kind of “lottery”, like if my name was put into a random drawing of sorts, and now this is my “prize”. Lol!

    And yet, remembering important information I’m now learning isn’t really something I’m nexecessarily good for. Hope you remain well.

Leave a Reply

